Robopi with SimpleIDE

Moderator: Steve

Robopi with SimpleIDE

Postby ray » Sat Nov 01, 2014 9:16 am

I disabled ttyAMA0 as instructed
I have SimpleIDE installed and running.
I replaced propeller-load
I have robopi.cfg in ~/SimpleIDE-....

I compiled hello.c successfully and it seems to load correctly with a Verifying ram OK and build successful
when I run either from RAM, EEPROM or with terminal I get NADA - nuttin - zilch
It must be me cause other folk seem to work BUT what???
ray
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2014 10:53 am

Re: Robopi with SimpleIDE

Postby mikronauts » Sat Nov 01, 2014 6:59 pm

Hi Ray,

Can you post the hello.c here? I'll try to figure it out for you.

Best Regards,

Bill

ray wrote:I disabled ttyAMA0 as instructed
I have SimpleIDE installed and running.
I replaced propeller-load
I have robopi.cfg in ~/SimpleIDE-....

I compiled hello.c successfully and it seems to load correctly with a Verifying ram OK and build successful
when I run either from RAM, EEPROM or with terminal I get NADA - nuttin - zilch
It must be me cause other folk seem to work BUT what???
mikronauts
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2014 6:58 pm

Re: Robopi with SimpleIDE

Postby ray » Sat Nov 01, 2014 8:35 pm

Hello.c from the simpleIDE demo progs
Am I not including something??

How does the prop know the baudrate and what I/O pins?
You mentioned a robopi.cfg file (which I created in ~/simpleIDE...) is that where it lives?
does simpleide know to look for it?
What board type does the robopi look like to simpleide?

Me confused....

#include "simpletools.h"
int main()
{
while (1) { print("Hello World!"); }
}
ray
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2014 10:53 am

Re: Robopi with SimpleIDE

Postby mikronauts » Sun Nov 02, 2014 8:16 am

Hi Ray,

In order to see the output from hello.c you need to be running a terminal program on the Pi at the same baud rate as as the Prop is sending data at, and you have to use robopi.cfg so that the baud rate will be correct.

I don't remember off the top of my head where to put robopi.cfg (I'll look it up later), but the SimpleIDE documentation will tell you where it should go. (it may have been /opt/parallax/propeller-load)

Since in your previous message you wrote that SimpleIDE was able to program RoboPi, you are 99% of the way there :)

ray wrote:Hello.c from the simpleIDE demo progs
Am I not including something??

How does the prop know the baudrate and what I/O pins?
You mentioned a robopi.cfg file (which I created in ~/simpleIDE...) is that where it lives?
does simpleide know to look for it?
What board type does the robopi look like to simpleide?

Me confused....

#include "simpletools.h"
int main()
{
while (1) { print("Hello World!"); }
}
mikronauts
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2014 6:58 pm

Re: Robopi with SimpleIDE

Postby ray » Sun Nov 02, 2014 2:10 pm

OK so I copied robopi.cfg to the propeller-load directories in /opt/parallax/propeller-load and the one in my home directory, and modified boards.txt in both places so robopi board type now appears in the drop down menu.

Is the Terminal included with SimpleIDE ie "Run with Terminal" able to communicate with the board?
If so, I still get no output.

At any rate since the SimpleIDE terminal is configurable for baudrate and terminal port
I have tried all the baudrates available but still no output not even garbage
which would indicate it is sending something.
ray
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2014 10:53 am

Re: Robopi with SimpleIDE

Postby mikronauts » Sun Nov 02, 2014 3:22 pm

I never got that terminal working, I tend to use minicom on the Pi, or Putty on larger boxes.

My guess is that the SimpleIDE serial terminal does not know about /dev/ttyAMA0

Next time I decide to build SimpleIDE I'll see if I can fix it.

ray wrote:OK so I copied robopi.cfg to the propeller-load directories in /opt/parallax/propeller-load and the one in my home directory, and modified boards.txt in both places so robopi board type now appears in the drop down menu.

Is the Terminal included with SimpleIDE ie "Run with Terminal" able to communicate with the board?
If so, I still get no output.

At any rate since the SimpleIDE terminal is configurable for baudrate and terminal port
I have tried all the baudrates available but still no output not even garbage
which would indicate it is sending something.
mikronauts
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2014 6:58 pm


Return to RoboPi

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron